Spirit Dimension Homepage
Book: If You Love That Lady Don't Marry Her": ... Thomas E. Buckley. Christianity - Protestantism Books. Bookstore: spiritual growth, personal development, psyhology, mind, body, spirit, art, self-help.
  Book Store of Spirit Dimension
 Subject Index / Christianity - Protestantism

If You Love That Lady Don't Marry Her": The Courtship Letters of Sally McDowell and John Miller, 18541856

by Thomas E. Buckley, John Miller, Sally Campbell Presto McDowell, etc.

Buy the book: Thomas E. Buckley. If You Love That Lady Don't Marry Her

Release Date: July, 2000

Edition: Hardcover


More Info

Buy the book: Thomas E. Buckley. If You Love That Lady Don't Marry Her

Great Story. Meticulous research. A "must have" resource.

Buckley's work on the agonizingly long and complex courtship of a distinguished Presbyterian minister (and later Confederate officer) and the divorced daughter of a Governor of Virginia is extraordinary.

The number of letters contained in this volume, PAINSTAKINGLY transcribed from handwriting that is (at least 50%) illegible, is astounding. The story told is compelling for even a cynical 21st century observer of love and life . . . and a rare chronicle of the political and personal impact of 19th-century Presbyterian varying "insights" into the mind, will, and intent of an sometimes angry and always fearsome God.

The notes and bibliography are priceless. They alone make the book a must-have resource for anyone interested in the 19th century history of southern Presbyterian protestantism, women's rights, religious bigotry, Rockbridge County, Lexington and most of the rest of Virginia. . . . . not to mention the geneaologies of perhaps half the population of the entire valley of Virginia.

Detailed, execellent, and pound for pound . . . no better value.

A credit to an editor's labor of love . . . and to the University of Nebraska Press for publishing it.

From Amazon.com

Teachings, Traditions
Feng Shui
Martial Arts
Toltec Teachings
Transpersonal Psychology

George Gurdjieff
Jiddu Krishnamurti

Art, Culture
Magical Music
Tea Culture

Video, DVD

Copyright © 2002-2003
Privacy Policy | Contact Us